Another frustrating day (featuring Lisa’s ability to make me laugh)

Well, at least I lost something. I lost 1/2 of a pound this past week.

At first, I was incredibly discouraged. I didn’t want to do anything. I cried while talking to Chris about it. I am seriously tired of the lose something-lose nothing every other week. To be fair, I waned a bit this week. I ate a couple of bad things on the weekend. I went over my calorie count once (almost twice). I didn’t work out as hard as I could for the last few days because of not being able to hit properly with my left hand (which REALLY sucks, because that’s my hard hitter). And it’s also the week that I had my “period” (having an IUD, I barely have them, but I still have symptoms). However, I never stopped. I backed off a bit, but I never stopped.

I am getting discouraged. I am not going to stop, though. It makes me want to work harder, which I did today with my exercise with Chris. I still have my belly dancing stuff to do, which I will be doing after I post this. I actually sparred with Chris for 3 minutes and wasn’t winded. 3 minutes is the normal round time. There was no hard contact (Lisa says she’ll give that to me tonight), but there were times when I got inside his guard. I could have done some awesome damage. I would have been laid out flat in the first 30 seconds, though. I need to duck and dodge more. My husband is MASSIVE and has been trained before, so I would have been knocked the fuck out. :) However, he said that I did get some good hits in. I couldn’t stop giggling for the longest time during the sparring, though. I think it was a nervous reaction, because nothing was really funny… I got a bruise on my leg from blocking some kicks, and I figured out how to get inside of my husband’s reach. It was fun to do.

Yesterday, I watched a documentary called Fat HeadΒ (available on Netflix streaming and Hulu). It’s kind of a response to Super Size Me. It’s incredibly educational, and shows how the government is controlling what is considered to be healthy. I suggest EVERYONE who is trying to lose weight or even just eat healthier watches it. Watching the documentary was very much like watching Bill Nye the Science Guy – he breaks down the math and science so that children can understand it. My little sister and I watched it together. We were so interested in it, and really wished it had been shown to us years ago. It also explains what food is good for you and why. EXCELLENT watch. It made me realize that I really have to cut out carbs, so that is exactly what I will be doing starting next week. I already eat a small amount of carbs compared to what I used to eat. I’m going to make it my goal to have no more than 100g of carbs per day, mostly so that I don’t run out of things to eat, lol. That’s what Tom does in the movie, and, without too much effort, he ends up losing a large fat percentage and 12 lbs in 28 days! Seeing the results was what got me. It will hopefully help with my discouragement and help me lose weight faster, or at least give me more than just 1/2 a pound loss every other week. I am actually nervous about doing it, but I guess that means it’s a large change. Chris is even excited to do it. Once we start, I’m going to personalize the goals for my daily intake on My Fitness Pal so I can follow it easier.

All in all, it seems it’s time to switch up what I’m doing. I need to be pushing myself more again, and fixing what I’m eating. I think I am getting comfortable in what I am doing, and it’s going to end up sabotaging me. Also, sorry for the long ass post. :D

Leave a Reply

