The plateau monster has eated me.

I lost 2 tenths of a pound this week. Really? The amount of work that I have been doing and I lost TWO TENTHS OF A POUND?

EDIT: I just pooped. Even after already having coffee, I ended up losing 0.4 more lbs, making a total of 0.6 this week. Better. Still plateaued.

Least to say, I’m a little pissed.

I have seen people say they hit plateaus for months. I have seen people say they hit a plateau for 2 years (5 pounds until goal, even). Plateaus fucking suck giant donkey dick, and I’m pissed at my body right now.

“Hey, hormones, I have a great idea! Let’s fuck with Melissa’s weight and see how pissed off we can get her!” exclaims my brain.

“Sure, brain! I mean, we have to listen to you anyway! You’re the control system!” I imagine my hormones replied.

*flips off her body*

I have officially been hanging in a 3 pound range (231-234) for the past month. Almost exactly. That is ridiculous! It’s officially a plateau in my head, and I don’t know what I can do to change it.

I am seriously lucky for my friends on Twitter. I don’t know what I would do right now, but two of them (the ones who had the plateaus I’ve mentioned) are on top of it and sending me all the plateau-breaking shit ever. Have to give a huge shout out to Sarah Nelson, because if it wasn’t for her, I wouldn’t have found Christie and Jenni (and Jenni’s husband, Adam). Christie and Jenni are all over it, handing me articles and tips on how to get out of this funk with my body. Quite thankful right now to have support from people who have lost weight and are now coaches for others losing weight. And it’s a huge plus that they are fucking hilarious, too. :) Massive love to them.

I’ll get out of this, I don’t know when, but I am going to change up my routine and shock my system a bit. Might go back to my belly dancing videos that do toning for a while instead of tae bo, look at my mom’s ballet exercises she got from Prevention magazine, and all the articles ever from Jenni and Christie.

OH. Right! Measurements! Which have changed! :)

  • Neck: 15.5 (0)
  • Bust: 48.0 (0)
  • Ribs: 39.0 (-0.5)
  • Waist: 49.0 (-0.5)
  • Hips: 51.0 (0)

Annoyed at my hips, as they haven’t changed in 6 weeks. Muscle gain is probably to blame for that with my running that I’ve started and uphill walking. BUT, I am going to change this up and see how I change in the next month. :)

And now, your reminder. There at the top right is a widget that explains my birthday wish, but you can totally check out the full blog post here. TL;DR – I am trying to raise money for a beginner’s roller derby set that I can get for my birthday. This will probably also help shake things up for me. :) You can donate here with PayPal or here with your credit/debit card. Thanks for ANY amount you can spare. If you can’t, try spreading the word for me.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Evilbatwitch
    May 11, 2012 @ 15:56:07

    The incredible shrinking woman! Really guys, she *looks* skinnier. I don’t get how the scales are so full of non-shrinkage. But! the measurements bear out some of it.

    Reply

  2. Adam (@adamm9)
    May 12, 2012 @ 14:02:44

    I’ll take the non-scale victories any day. Measurements, the way clothes fit, energy level, other people noticing. All just as good if not better than seeing that fickle bitch of scale report a negative number.

    Great work! Keep it up! :)

    Reply

    • Missy Q.
      May 12, 2012 @ 14:23:24

      *hee* Thanks, Adam! I take those, too, but even my measurements have been kind of flat this past month/month and a half. That’s what makes me realize for sure it’s a plateau! New post soon! :D

      Reply

  3. Trackback: New plan – Shock the body. « Musings of a Sociopath

Leave a Reply

