The day that I nearly died…

…from HAPPINESS.

As most of you know, I am not living with my husband. We aren’t separated by much of a choice, and you can read a lot about what happened here. It’s been really hard on us, and we didn’t realize how much we depended on each other.

The beginning of last month, Chris came out and visited me. It was fun, happy, and such a recharge to us that we haven’t been as depressed since. The week after Chris came out, his current roommate went up to Seattle for a job interview. We had no idea what this would entail with living situation, so we waited it out. Dan ended up getting the job up in Seattle and talked with Chris. He decided he wanted to rent the entire house out, and it was too much for Chris to afford; Chris would need to find a different place to live. He had a month (by June 1st) to figure this out.

We jumped on it immediately. Him having to move out must be word from the gods saying I can go back home. We spent weeks trying to find a place that would take us and our minimal amount of money. It got to the point that we were clicking on everything and weeding out the ones that said “no pets” or “no couples”, and just emailed everyone that didn’t have those listed. Lots of no replies, a lot of other refusals for couples. We decided to make a pleading Craigslist post listing what the situation was, that we had a cat, and the time frame we would need it by.

I got back several hits.

One was from a guy named Dave who owned a house on the bus line (and near a high school, a Shari’s, and the farmers market up north Beaverton/Portland). Cool, we set up a meeting time with him. Another was from a girl named Iliana (Illi, as she liked to be called) who had an apartment on the bus line (very close to my cousin in Beaverton, the farmers market in Beaverton, and right next to a park). Chris went to both places this past Saturday to see which one we could choose from.

Both people seemed to genuinely want us, he said. They were both nice, the proximity to things we would need were very similar, and he liked the buildings in general. It came down to the bedrooms. The apartment with Illi had a huge master bedroom with bath that we would be renting. The house with Dave had a small bedroom (smaller than the ones we’re currently in), no attached bathroom, and the bath in the bathroom had no shower (which was a huge minus to Chris). We decided we wanted the apartment, but will keep the house in mind in case we would need a back up; we had to fill out the application for the apartment.

Well, we talked with Illi today, and her manager said that as long as no one “tells” her, we would be able to move in without having to sign the lease. Let me just bold what this means.

I get to go back to my husband NEXT WEEK instead of in August.

I have never been so happy and simultaneously ill at the same time. I don’t want to leave my parents, but I miss my life in Portland, and cannot wait to get back right now. We get an apartment that will let us keep Frankie and with a girl who is so adorable and nerdy and OMG I GET MY HUSBAND BACK.

I haven’t been able to contain myself much with this. I wanted to tell everyone the second I found out I had a chance to go back. But I couldn’t give everyone (and myself) that kind of hope and then it end up not working out. Now I can officially say that I am going back to my husband just before my birthday, and I am so excited I might just fly into space.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Evilbatwitch
    May 23, 2012 @ 13:25:28

    :( I has a sad, and a happy for you, but mostly a sad. It was great having you here, knowing you were safe.

    Reply

  2. Sarah Wooller
    May 23, 2012 @ 14:34:44

    yay – happy days

    Reply

  3. Char
    May 23, 2012 @ 14:53:13

    Amazing news! So very happy for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

